Karen Armstrong

Professional Information

DegreeMaster of Arts in Teaching
Where did you study?University of Oregon (B.A. History) and Western Washington University (M.A.T)
How long have you worked in the field of ID/DD?19 years
Have you worked in any other interesting/notable positions or fields?Telecommunications and Insurance sales 
List any additional pertinent continuing education you have done.OIS Training (2022) Employment Support Certificate (2010)
What is your philosophy about your work?I believe behavior is communication and I’d like to find positive ways to understand one another. 
Describe a professional moment/event that you are very proud of.Anytime I’m a part of a team that creates new opportunities for supported people, I feel very satisfied. 
Do you have any professional mentors? If so, describe that relationship.I’ve had professional mentors since I was in my early 20’s. This has long been a critical part of my professional development. While mentors do often cheer me on, they often are more focused on helping me set goals, mitigate barriers I experience, and provide the kind of critical feedback I need to improve my skills. 
What are some of your favorite things about working for Among Friends?I love that everyone at Among friends is committed to supporting individuals with a variety of abilities having whole lives. 

A little fun information to get to know Karen

What do you like to do outside of work? Any hobbies?I like to hike, travel, listen to live music, read, meditate, and ride motorcycles. 
Do you have pets? Tell us about them.I have 3 dogs and 1 cat: Morsel (16 years old pomchi), Benny (9 years old Boston Terrier), Lola (6 years old Boston/Frenchie Mix), and Lilipad (10 years old American short hair kitty).
Describe your living situation.I live in a community with several friends and my partner. I have a tiny house that is parked on the property, but I share common spaces in the main house with beloved friends and partners. 
Do you have any children? How old are they? Tell us about them.I have a son named Zachary. He 27 years old and lives in Atlanta, GA. He has been married 3 years to his high school sweetie, Erin. I love them both very much and feel proud that they are my family every day. 
Where are you from originally? What got you to Oregon (or wherever you are right now)?I’m from Hillsboro, OR. I lived in Seattle, WA for 20 years, but my son really wanted to attend the University of Oregon, so I moved back to Hillsboro in 2012. 
What effect did the quarantine have on your personal/work life?It actually had a great impact on my life and work. It forced me to slow down and focus on myself in ways I had not taken the time to before because life was always so busy. It convinced me that I wanted to change my work to something that involved more writing and more working from a home office. 
Where is somewhere you’ve traveled? What are some things you liked about where you went? What was that experience like?In 2018, I visited my spirit home- Rhodes, Greece. It is beautiful there. It is surrounded by water, contains loads of history from ancient times to more recent history, and has the most delicious food! I can ‘t wait to go back there and visit again! 
What was your first concert? How old were you?My first concert was Alabama and I was in the 8th grade. 
What is one of your favorite books, movies, or bands? Why?My favorite book is The Stand by Stephen King. I love the ways King develops the characters and tells stories through their voice
Describe one of your favorite meals.Pizza. Pizza. Pizza. Do you see a theme? 

SCORE! is our monthly newsletter highlighting everything we’re doing at Among Friends. You’ll find out the most current information about what we are doing in each of our programs - Training, Behavior Services, Marketplace, and Advocacy and Consultation.

You’ll get links to articles, products, books, resources, and more curated to help you support the people you support.

  • We highlight programs, people, and products that might help you as you support folx.
  • We have calls to action so we can all be a part of creating a community that supports people and their sexual-self determination.
  • We list upcoming dates for trainings including the certification program - and we offer coupon codes and various discounts.
  • And so much more!!!

This will close in 0 seconds

Portland Web Design - Watermelon Web Works LLC