Mel Moseley

Professional Information

DegreeMA Theatre Arts
Where did you study?University of Oregon
How long have you worked in the field of ID/DD?9 months
Have you worked in any other interesting/notable positions or fields?I am a performer, musician, and workshop facilitator with a focus on sex-positivity. I have toured nationally with my one-woman shows.
List any additional pertinent continuing education you have done.I’ve been getting my continuing education around ID/DD through supporting Shanya in the Certification program trainings.
What is your philosophy about your work?My work needs to align with my values and the rest of my life. I need to show up as myself and I want to be a benefit to the people I work with. Community, Self-Actualization, and Connection are key values to me.
Describe a professional moment/event that you are very proud of.After one of my shows I had a woman in her 80’s tell me that she finally understood her daughter’s alternative lifestyle in a better light. I love planting seeds that help heal relationships!
Do you have any professional mentors? If so, describe that relationship.In theatre I had several including Augusto Boal (the founder of Theatre of the Oppressed), Keith Johnstone (the founder of Impro theory) and Scott Kelman (the creator of Kelman works). All of those guys focused on improvisational theatre in different ways – the through-line was working together to create stories – and in the case of Boal, to heal communities.
What are some of your favorite things about working for Among Friends?The people and the mission! I love that we are making positive change in people’s lives as a team.

A little fun information to get to know Mel

What do you like to do outside of work? Any hobbies?I play guitar and keyboards and I love writing music. I also play in an Improv Rock Band called Canoofle.
Do you have pets? Tell us about them.I have a cat named Penny. She’s adorable, but she really doesn’t know how to “cat” very well…
Describe your living situation.I live with my partner, Steve, in a lovely little house with a beautiful garden designed by an amazing friend of ours that we call “Happy House.” Steve and I love to create mosaic tables and other functional art together.
Do you have any children? How old are they? Tell us about them.I have a 21 year-old. He’s a journalism major and the University of Oregon and happens to be one of the most emotionally intelligent humans that I know. Steve has an 18 year-old that is with us part-time. He’s an incredible musician and will be focusing on computer science in college.
Where are you from originally? What got you to Oregon (or wherever you are right now)?I was born in Atlanta, GA, but grew up all over the country and the world. I was a faculty brat, so we moved around to different university towns and cities. I’ve lived in Palo Alto, CA; Chicago, IL; Paris, France; London, England; Denver, CO; and Boston, MA.
What effect did the quarantine have on your personal/work life?It changed everything! I was supposed to be on the road with my show from March through October of 2020. Then all of the bookings fell through and I had to pivot. I spent the quarantine doing data entry for a friend. When Shanya was looking for support for Among Friends, I applied for the job and made another pivot. That said it fits perfectly with my personal mission of “spreading the gospel of sex positivity.”
Where is somewhere you’ve traveled? What are some things you liked about where you went? What was that experience like?I spent 17 days in Eastern Europe driving around with a friend. It was not a destination I ever expected to go to, but he loved the area, so we went. It was both beautiful and sad. The devastation from the siege of Sarajevo was palpable with all of the gravesites. And they filled in the holes where the bombs fell with red resin. It’s astonishing.
What was your first concert? How old were you?Journey with Fog Hat and Blue Oyster Cult. I was 14.
What is one of your favorite books, movies, or bands? Why?My very favorite book as a young reader was The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster. I even wrote him a letter to tell him how much I loved his book and then later in graduate school I interviewed him for a show I was writing.
Describe one of your favorite meals.I love food with variety and an activity – and by that I mean food with lots of different components that you put together yourself. Think Mediterranean food (all those dips and bread, etc…) or Tapas (all those little plates). Food for me is about sharing and connecting with people.  

SCORE! is our monthly newsletter highlighting everything we’re doing at Among Friends. You’ll find out the most current information about what we are doing in each of our programs - Training, Behavior Services, Marketplace, and Advocacy and Consultation.

You’ll get links to articles, products, books, resources, and more curated to help you support the people you support.

  • We highlight programs, people, and products that might help you as you support folx.
  • We have calls to action so we can all be a part of creating a community that supports people and their sexual-self determination.
  • We list upcoming dates for trainings including the certification program - and we offer coupon codes and various discounts.
  • And so much more!!!

This will close in 0 seconds

Portland Web Design - Watermelon Web Works LLC