Rudy Hansen

Professional Information

Degree Community Development and Health Sciences
Where did you study? Central Michigan University
How long have you worked in the field of ID/DD? 18 years
Have you worked in any other interesting/notable positions or fields? I have worked in the Arts, specifically in Modern Dance
List any additional pertinent continuing education you have done. -Oregon Intervention System Instructor – Agency/Independent – Crisis/IF level -Completed the FBA/PBSP Workshop and the Mentorship program with OTAC – Extensive experience in Autism Spectrum Disorders – Completed Tier 2: Advocacy of the Sexual Self-Determination Certification Program
What is your philosophy about your work? Work is not changing the external environment but laboring on oneself.
Describe a professional moment/event that you are very proud of. When the people I support are able to feel safe. Every time I’m proud. That’ll never change. Mostly I am proud of them.
Do you have any professional mentors? If so, describe that relationship. Yes, I have had many. Some in the field, some outside of it. Mentors that have inspired me the most were always themselves fully and had capacity to help others see themselves/their capabilities fully
What are some of your favorite things about working for Among Friends? The energy.
What do you like to do outside of work? Any hobbies? I like to dance, bike, play with my son, run with my dog, read, and see ALL THE THINGS IN NATURE.
Do you have pets? Tell us about them. I have a pup named Arrow, he is named after the dog in The Point!
Describe your living situation. I live amongst many MANY plants. My goal is to have a home like a jungle!
Do you have any children? How old are they? Tell us about them. I have one son named Llew. He is six. He is silly, has the most elegant gestures, loves reading more than me, and is the kindest soul I know.
Where are you from originally? What got you to Oregon (or wherever you are right now)? I am originally from Minnesota! I came here exploring.
What effect did the quarantine have on your personal/work life? I am an introvert so I was very happy to stay home or outside with my dog and to have more time with my son. Quarantine permanently changed how I view work and its impact on my family.
Where is somewhere you’ve traveled? What are some things you liked about where you went? What was that experience like? I’ve traveled a lot in my life. All the states and 6 countries. I biked from Providence, Rhode Island to San Francisco, California. Every time I travel I am reminded that life is, indeed, magical.
What was your first concert? How old were you? The Lilith Fair… I cannot recall my age.
What is one of your favorite books, movies, or bands? Why? One of my favorite authors currently is Haruki Murakami. I couldn’t say why and I think that’s why I like him so much!
Describe one of your favorite meals. Anything my auntie Annie makes is my favorite because it reminds me of my childhood.

SCORE! is our monthly newsletter highlighting everything we’re doing at Among Friends. You’ll find out the most current information about what we are doing in each of our programs - Training, Behavior Services, Marketplace, and Advocacy and Consultation.

You’ll get links to articles, products, books, resources, and more curated to help you support the people you support.

  • We highlight programs, people, and products that might help you as you support folx.
  • We have calls to action so we can all be a part of creating a community that supports people and their sexual-self determination.
  • We list upcoming dates for trainings including the certification program - and we offer coupon codes and various discounts.
  • And so much more!!!

This will close in 0 seconds

Portland Web Design - Watermelon Web Works LLC