Cristina Lopez

Professional Information

DegreeBA
Where did you study?University of Portland
How long have you worked in the field of ID/DD?10 years
Have you worked in any other interesting/notable positions or fields?Supervisor in residential care for migrant youth.
List any additional pertinent continuing education you have done.Extensive crisis training, extensive cultural competency training, incredible years group facilitator
What is your philosophy about your work?In Lak’ech Ala K’in – I am you, you are me.
Describe a professional moment/event that you are very proud of.When I’ve gotten the opportunity to witness healing – I’m mostly most proud of myself when I’m proud of the folks I work with.
Do you have any professional mentors? If so, describe that relationship.I have had mentors who’ve taught me that there is a teacher in everyone if you’re willing to listen.
What are some of your favorite things about working for Among Friends?The nuance in all we do.

A little fun information to get to know Cristina

What do you like to do outside of work? Any hobbies?I am a bit of a “hobby hoarder”! I love to read, work with clay, and collage. I also love to spend time with my family over meals from my culture.
Do you have pets? Tell us about them.I have a 6 month old goldfish named Juan. No one expected him to live past the 2 week mark. Take that, world!
Describe your living situation.I have recently moved to Portland from a smaller town at the foot of the Gorge!
Do you have any children? How old are they? Tell us about them.I don’t have any children.
Where are you from originally? What got you to Oregon (or wherever you are right now)?I am originally from San Luis Potosi! I moved to the US when I was 7, but hope to be back soon!
What effect did the quarantine have on your personal/work life?It helped me realize I’m a happy home body!
Where is somewhere you’ve traveled? What are some things you liked about where you went? What was that experience like?I recently traveled to Puerto Rico! I loved the community and kindess that was extended towards me in the form of food, good conversations, and smiles.
What was your first concert? How old were you?I was 12 at the Hannah Montana and Jonas Brothers concert!
What is one of your favorite books, movies, or bands? Why?My absolute favorite book is the Four Agreements- I wish I could gift one to everyone I meet!
Describe one of your favorite meals.Chilaquiles – a traditional Mexican breakfast that feels like home.

SCORE! is our monthly newsletter highlighting everything we’re doing at Among Friends. You’ll find out the most current information about what we are doing in each of our programs - Training, Behavior Services, Marketplace, and Advocacy and Consultation.

You’ll get links to articles, products, books, resources, and more curated to help you support the people you support.

  • We highlight programs, people, and products that might help you as you support folx.
  • We have calls to action so we can all be a part of creating a community that supports people and their sexual-self determination.
  • We list upcoming dates for trainings including the certification program - and we offer coupon codes and various discounts.
  • And so much more!!!

This will close in 0 seconds

Portland Web Design - Watermelon Web Works LLC